The network

Research groups in LiSyM (Liver Systems Medicine) are located in 16 cities around Germany. The network fosters research collaboration and cooperation among the groups through internal networking events such as status seminars, retreats and workshops.

University Hospital Kiel

Department of Visceral and Thoracic Surgery
Prof. Dr. Clemens Schafmayer

Fraunhofer Institute for Medical Image Computing MEVIS

Prof. Dr. Tobias Preusser

University Medicine Greifswald

Institute of Bioinformatics
Prof. Dr. Lars Kaderali

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Institute for Biochemistry
Prof. Dr. Georg-Hermann Holzhütter
Institut for Radiology
Prof. Dr. Ingolf Sack
Department of General, Visceral and Thoracic Surgery
PD Dr. Martin Stockmann
Institute of Experimental Endocrinology
PD Dr. Susanna Wiegand

Humboldt Universität zu Berlin

Institute for Theoretical Biology (ITB)
Prof. Dr. Edda Klipp
Dr. Matthias König

Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics (MPI-MG)

Dr. David Michael Meierhofer

IfADo – Leibniz Research Centre for Working Environment and Human Factors

Department of Toxicology / Systems Toxicology
Prof. Dr. Jan G. Hengstler
PD Dr. Dirk Drasdo
Dr. Ahmed Ghallab
Dr. Nachiket Vartak

Heinrich Heine University

Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Infectious Diseases
Prof. Dr. Johannes G. Bode

Bayer Technology Services GmbH

Dr. Lars Küpfer

RWTH Aachen University Hospital

ExMI - Experimental Molecular Imaging
Prof. Dr. Fabian Kiessling
Joint Research Center for Computational Biomedicine
Prof. Dr. Julio Saez-Rodriguez
Joint Research Center for Computational Biomedicine
Prof. Dr. Andreas Schuppert
Department of Internal Medicine III
Prof. Dr. Christian Trautwein
Dr. Marie-Luise Berres

Saarland University Hospital

Department of Medicine II
Prof. Dr. Frank Lammert
Department of General-, Visceral-, Vascular- and Pediatric Surgery
Prof. Dr. Matthias Glanemann

University of Leipzig

Institute of Biochemistry (Faculty of Medicine)
Dr. Madlen Soja-Matz
Institute for Computer Science (Bioinformatics)
Dr. Stefan Höhme
Interdisciplinary Centre for Bioinformatics
PD Dr. Dirk Drasdo

Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics (MPI-CBG)

Prof. Dr. Marino Zerial
Dr. Andrej Shevchenko

Technical University Dresden

Center of Information Services and High Performance Computing (ZIH)
Dr. Lutz Brusch

University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus

Medical Department 1
Prof. Dr. Jochen Hampe

Medical Faculty Mannheim, Heidelberg University

Section „Molecular Hepatology – Alcohol Associated Diseases“ Dept. of Medicine II
Prof. Dr. Steven Dooley

Heidelberg University Hospital

Hamamatsu Tissue Imaging & Analysis Center
PD Dr. Niels Grabe
Department of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Kauzcor
Department of General, Visceral and Transplantation Surgery
Prof. Dr. Katrin Hoffmann

German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)

Systems Biology of Signal Transduction (B200)
Prof. Dr. Ursula Klingmüller


PD Dr. Wolfgang Müller

Dr. Margarete Fischer-Bosch Institute of Clinical Pharmacology

Prof. Dr. Matthias Schwab

Albert ­Ludwig University of Freiburg

Institute of Physics
Prof. Dr. Jens Timmer

Helmholtz Zentrum Munich - German Research Center for Health and the Environment

Institute of Computational Biology
Prof. Dr. Dr. Fabian Theis

Technical University Munich Hospital rechts der Isar

Institute of Molecular Immunology/Experimental Oncology
Prof. Dr. Percy A. Knolle

Scientific Leadership

To ensure LiSyM achieves its research goals, the Leadership Team supports research collaboration and fosters cooperation among research groups and researchers in the different disciplines represented within the network.

Jochen Hampe

Christian Trautwein

Frank Lammert

Ursula Klingmüller

Madlen Matz-Soja

Marino Zerial

Dirk Drasdo

Steven Dooley

Lars Küpfer

Wolfgang Müller

Hermann-Georg Holzhütter

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board provides objective, constructive feedback on LiSyM research and advises the network on strategic research and technology development matters relevant to achieving research outcomes.

Michael Manns

Ron Heeren

Sophie Lotersztajn

Walter Kolch

Bart Staels

Jörg Stelling

Network Management

Peter LM Jansen

Helen Desmond